Two Sewage Facilities Grants Awarded to Municipalities in 48th District, O’Neal Says
HARRISBURG – Rep. Tim O’Neal (R-Washington) today announced almost $75,000 in Sewage Facilities Program grants were awarded to the Carroll Township Authority and Morris Township.

O’Neal advocated for the funding through the Commonwealth Financing Authority’s (CFA) Sewage Facilities Program. Act 13 of 2012 established the Marcellus Legacy Fund and allocated funds to the CFA for statewide initiatives to comply with the Act 537, known as the Pennsylvania Sewage Facilities Act. A 50% match of the total project cost is required for grantees.

“Proper maintenance and upgrades to sewage disposal systems are essential in order to accommodate demand and prevent environmental and health hazards,” O’Neal said. “These systems were built years ago. In the ensuing years, technology has evolved, and additional residences and businesses have been added. These grants will help ensure the systems are operating effectively for years to come.”

Carroll Township Authority’s $36,668 grant will be used for an official Act 537 sewage facilities update. Morris Township received $38,017 for Act 537 planning for Prosperity Village. 

The 48th Legislative District in Washington County covers the city of Washington; Amwell, part of Carroll (Districts 3, 4 and 5), East Finley, Fallowfield, Morris, North Franklin, part of North Strabane (Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5), Nottingham, Somerset, South Franklin, South Strabane, and West Finley townships; and the boroughs of Donora, East Washington and Green Hills.

Representative Tim O’Neal
48th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick
717.260.6358 /